Home > Uncategorized > Osaka Insider Guidebook Coming Soon!

Osaka Insider Guidebook Coming Soon!

October 20, 2011 Leave a comment Go to comments

Despite the fact that I’ve been living and writing in Fukuoka since early 2011, I have also been working on a thorough Osaka Prefecture guidebook for sightseers and foreign residents, titled Osaka Insider: A Travel Guide for Osaka Prefecture. It will cover Osaka City and the surrounding prefecture in detail, giving you information you can’t find anywhere else on interesting things to see and do. I have visited each destination personally and engaged in a massive amount of research to ensure that you can see the best Osaka has to offer, and the guidebook’s rating system for each destination helps travelers determine where to go first. There will also be detailed information for visitors coming to Japan for the first time, ramen and okonomiyaki restaurant guides, walking maps for the historical and retro buildings of the Kitahama/Yodoyabashi/Nakanoshima area, a few short essays and more!

I have added a new page to this site where you can access online maps for every destination and restaurant listed in the guide. This is meant to be used in conjunction with the printed guidebook when it is published, but you can browse it now to get an idea of what the guidebook will contain.

Look for Osaka Insider: A Travel Guide for Osaka Prefecture in late 2011 or early 2012!

  1. odorunara
    October 21, 2011 at 11:28 am

    おめでとう!Can’t wait to read it!

  2. October 26, 2011 at 12:20 am

    Thanks! I hope it will be of use to you!

  3. Jake
    November 7, 2011 at 3:47 pm

    definitely looking forward to it. Hopefully can get it on amazon

    • November 7, 2011 at 5:22 pm

      Yep, it’ll be available on Amazon immediately once I finish all the editing! Hopefully this year!

  4. January 3, 2012 at 1:51 pm

    Any updates on the guide?? My girlfriend and I are staying near Namba Sta. for 3 months and were looking for something like this.

    • January 3, 2012 at 2:07 pm

      Just waiting for the final proof to arrive in the mail. Once I check that over, it’ll be for sale!

  5. January 3, 2012 at 2:19 pm

    Awesome!! Thanks for the quick response.

  6. January 7, 2012 at 7:41 pm

    Osaka Insider,
    Fabulous site on Osaka, though it’s sad you’re no longer based here…
    I am looking forward to having your book, too. Were you able to make space at all to include anything on the rakugo, manzai, or other comic variety scenes? I know these remain virtually inaccessible for most tourists as far as language goes, but I love it when people try to get the word out anyway.
    Let me know if you every need a blurb written on these subjects.
    Cheers,
    Matt

    • January 9, 2012 at 3:37 am

      Yep, I have recommended some theatres (kabuki, rakugo, bunraku, etc.). I think kabuki and rakugo in particular are great experiences even for those who can’t understand Japanese. Also, thanks in advance for your interest in my book! 🙂 I’m working out some small technical issues now, and then it’ll be available to buy.

  1. October 20, 2011 at 6:34 pm

Leave a comment