Home > Gourmet, Unique > Pepsi Mont Blanc

Pepsi Mont Blanc

October 27, 2010 Leave a comment Go to comments

Pepsi Mont BlancIt’s that time again. Yes, it’s time for another fabulous new flavor of Pepsi in Japan: Pepsi Mont Blanc. For those of you who don’t know what Mont Blanc is (besides the name of a mountain in the Alps), it is a sweet popular in Japan, often in tart, cupcake or roll cake form, with a chestnut flavor. And while Mont Blanc doesn’t taste bad on its own, when mixed with Pepsi, it creates the next limited-time-flavor Japanese Pepsi disaster. Just in case you missed them, previous incarnations included Pepsi Ice Cucumber, as well as the one that still gives me nightmares, Pepsi Azuki.

How to describe Pepsi Mont Blanc? Well, the bottle’s label describes it as follows: 「マロンのやさしい香りが漂う爽やかな刺激のコーラ。デザート感覚でお楽しみください。」 This means (my translation, 意訳 style): “A refreshing cola, from which wafts the gentle aroma of chestnuts. You can enjoy it the same way you enjoy dessert.”

In other words, a dessert cola with a hint of chestnuts. There’s a reason nobody has ever thought of this flavor until now. While it doesn’t reach the level of horribleness that some past Pepsi flavors have (most notably Pepsi Azuki, which may as well have been called Pepsi Upchuck), it sure doesn’t taste good. In fact, I’m trying to choke down a bottle of it while writing this post, so I don’t feel like I just threw away 147 yen.

On the positive side, I’ve got to hand it to PepsiCo for coming up with original, imaginative flavors that match the seasonal cuisine and atmosphere in Japan. And the label design is elegant, too. But I really do wonder what will be next: Pepsi Turkey and Gravy? Pepsi Snow Crab? Pepsi Christmas Cake?

 

t’s that time again. Yes, it’s time for another fabulous new flavor of Pepsi in Japan. This time around it’s Pepsi Mont Blanc. For those of you who don’t know what Mont Blanc is (besides the name of a mountain in the Alps), it is a sweet popular in Japan, often in tart, cupcake or roll cake form, with a chestnut flavor. And while Mont Blanc doesn’t taste bad on its own, when mixed with Pepsi, it has created the next limited-time-flavor Japanese Pepsi disaster. Just in case you missed it, previous incarnations included Pepsi Shiso—shiso meaning “perilla,” a kind of herb eaten in leaf form—as well as the one that still gives me nightmares, Pepsi Azuki.

How to describe Pepsi Mont Blanc? Well, the bottle describes it as follows: 「マロンのやさしい香りが漂う爽やかな刺激のコーラ。デザート間隔でお楽しみください。」 This means (my translation, 意訳 style): “A refreshing cola, from which wafts the gentle aroma of chestnuts. You can enjoy it the same way you enjoy dessert.”

In other words, a dessert cola with a hint of chestnuts. There’s a reason nobody has ever thought of this flavor until now. While it doesn’t reach the level of horribleness that some past Pepsi flavors have (most notably Pepsi Azuki, which may as well have been called Pepsi Upchuck), it sure doesn’t taste good. In fact, I’m trying to choke down a bottle of it while writing this post, so I don’t feel like I just threw away 147 yen.

On the positive side, I’ve got to hand it to PepsiCo for coming up with original, imaginative flavors that match the seasonal foods and atmosphere in Japan. And the label design is pretty elegant. But I really do wonder what will be next: Pepsi Turkey and Gravy? Pepsi Snow Crab? Pepsi Christmas Cake?

  1. obi
    October 27, 2010 at 5:45 pm

    Thanks that your are testing all these freaky stuff for us😛

    why do you think the people there are trying to find so many different testes for one product ? oO and its not only pepsi.

    • October 29, 2010 at 11:52 am

      Yep, I can’t resist trying something new, no matter how strange it may look. I think the gimmick value is what makes these products sell–usually they are only on store shelves for a short time.

  2. Heidi
    October 28, 2010 at 12:48 pm

    Oh, I love Mont Blanc. This news actually makes me miss Japan more than anything. I should ask my husband to keep a bottle of it for me until summer.

    -Heidi

    • October 29, 2010 at 11:59 am

      Hey Heidi, hope all is well back in the States!
      It’s worth a try, but don’t expect too much. Even if Mont Blanc is good by itself, just try imagining the taste if you doused it with Pepsi😛

  3. Katsue
    November 1, 2010 at 12:01 am

    Hahaha😀 You have been still obsessed about the strange Pepsi tastes… OK I will buy the new one for my son and check how he likes it.

  4. November 1, 2010 at 5:52 pm

    oh man, I actually like it!

  5. Adam
    November 4, 2010 at 3:29 pm

    Haha, Pepsi never ceases to amaze. I wonder if any of these strange flavors ever make it to the US?

  6. Aoki
    November 12, 2010 at 10:17 am

    I personally really enjoyed Pepsi Mont Blanc. A little sweet but its just like a desert soda! Plus the bottling is very nice. I give props to Pepsi Japan!

  7. MJG
    November 19, 2010 at 9:58 am

    Yeah I quite liked this one too- see my video review of it here-

    http://www.michaeljohngrist.com/2010/11/pepsi-mont-blanc/

  8. shannon l
    December 2, 2010 at 3:57 am

    I liked Pepsi Azuki. The first sip was bad then it reminded of grape soda for some reason.
    I have a bottle of Mont Blanc but haven’t tried it yet.

  9. February 9, 2011 at 1:43 pm

    Youre so cool! I dont suppose Ive read something like this before. So good to search out any person with some unique ideas on this subject. realy thanks for starting this up. this website is something that is wanted on the internet, somebody with a little bit originality. helpful job for bringing one thing new to the internet!

  10. Shoyren
    February 10, 2011 at 4:00 pm

    Really? I actually liked this alot. It’s a little strange, but I like the vanilla/coffee-ish favor. But to each their own. It’s still probably not worth the $4 plus shipping from J-list, though. ‘Least the bottle’s pretty.

  11. joe smith
    December 22, 2011 at 7:41 am

    I wish Pepsi would take and use 7Up Gold recipe that they removed along time ago becuase it had caffeine in it and it was controversal to their ad “Never had it, never wil.” So they stopped making it. DAMN it was good!!!

  1. October 28, 2010 at 12:45 pm
  2. October 30, 2010 at 7:47 pm
  3. November 1, 2010 at 10:20 am
  4. November 5, 2010 at 8:17 am
  5. November 12, 2011 at 11:36 am

Leave a Reply

