Home > Uncategorized > Osaka Insider Progress Report

Osaka Insider Progress Report

Osaka Insider here. It’s time for another progress report, where I make yet more excuses about why things are taking me so long😛

As you can see, I have changed the design theme for my blog. I have done so for two reasons: (1) I wanted a better layout that allows for larger pictures and improved readability, and (2) I am finally starting to put together the main Osaka Insider website, which will be integrated with this blog upon release. I was originally planning on making it separately and then integrating the blog with the website later, but I’ve decided to stick with the free route and just create it with this blog at the center. I will probably get a domain name eventually, but seeing as how the website’s debut has been delayed more than predicted, I will just aim to get it up for the time being. Besides, I’m not doing this for money, so I don’t feel the need to start paying money for it unless I start receiving some first. I have had all the information and most of the photos gathered for a long time, and a majority of the text has been ready for awhile, but I haven’t had time to take care of all the little things.

The point is, I have started the tedious process of transferring all the info from the site I was building (using Dreamweaver) into WordPress, which will be followed by more rewriting, proofreading, and so forth. The blog will continue to be updated as usual.

Any thoughts on the new design? Feel free to e-mail me (see the “About section for contact info) or write a comment here! I personally like the straightforward, subdued design, and have also been influenced by the recent trend toward simplification (I’m sure you’ve noticed this with Google and Wikipedia, among others). The previous look seemed a bit dated, also.

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. christian
    June 3, 2010 at 10:30 pm

    i like the new design. look forward to reading more on the blog when you get time.🙂 why don’t you add a little PayPal donate button at the side. If a few of your readers donate $2 each then that will pay for you to get a domain name. if you need any web hosting, drop me a message.

    • June 4, 2010 at 12:55 pm

      Good suggestions, and I may just take you up on that web hosting offer someday! Oh, and I do plan to write a real blog entry soon…:P

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

