Home > Gourmet > Okonomiyaki

Okonomiyaki

Today I thought I would write a little about Japanese food. I found another interesting blog with a good description of okonomiyaki, one of my favorite foods and also one of the most famous foods of Osaka. As described in the page I linked to above, onokomiyaki (which can be literally translated as “cook what you like”) is shaped liked a large pancake and contains eggs, dashi, cabbage and other vegetables, and usually pork or seafood of some sort. It is topped with mayonnaise, sauce,  aonori (dried seaweed flakes), and katsuo dashi (bonito flakes), and sometimes cheese. This is Osaka-style okonomiyaki.

The two places that are known for their okonomiyaki are Osaka and Hiroshima (sometimes Tokyo, but I don’t think Tokyo’s monjayaki can compare to these other two). Hiroshima is also quite good, and debates can become intense when comparing the merits of Osaka- and Hiroshima-style okonomiyaki (personally, I go with the former).

If you are in Osaka, I personally recommend eating at Bonhan (ぼん繁), which has shops in Tenmabashi and Kitahama. Bonhan also does take-out orders.

  1. Jonathan
    August 13, 2009 at 5:56 am

    Thanks for the pingback! I’m actually visiting Japan again next year and will probably spend a majority of my time in Osaka. Love it there!

  2. Caroline
    August 18, 2009 at 10:30 am

    I do love anything with eggs- so I just might be willing to eat this, as long as it is the pork version. 🙂

    • osakainsider
      September 2, 2009 at 12:23 pm

      The pork version is most common, actually. And you can order extra cheese and egg on top (among other things), which I usually do 🙂

  3. September 2, 2009 at 11:50 am

    I absolutely love Okonomiyaki!

    I make it whenever I can convince my wife and daughter to eat it. I got used to it about 30 years ago through a friendship with a Japanese scientist friend of mine.

    This is regional Japanese food and it is fantastic.

    • osakainsider
      September 2, 2009 at 12:21 pm

      I agree, it is fantastic 🙂 If you haven’t already, I hope you can eat okonomiyaki made in the Kansai area someday, it’s amazing.

  4. October 21, 2012 at 1:55 am

    My favorite Japanese food. We loved it so much, I think we have already perfected making it using our hot plate at home.

  1. September 8, 2009 at 6:39 pm
  2. October 9, 2009 at 12:13 pm
  3. February 3, 2010 at 7:51 pm

Leave a Reply

